Learn 2 Teach

Sick of buying gasoline? Go Electric!

Amp Motor Works plans to provide a service converting some Saturn car models into plug in electric cars. In their first model, the customer provides the Saturn Sky and a payment for the electric conversion. The company then takes out all the gasoline motor parts and puts in a fully electric drive train. It should get about 150 miles on a charge. The company has plans for an SUV and a 5 passenger car conversion as well.

Article about the Amp Motor Works electric conversion: Link

Amp Motor Works: Link

Want something a little more extreme? Try out the Tesla: Link

August 14, 2008 - Posted by | energy, innovation, transportation | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I hope all that noise is from other cars!

    Comment by Fred Conwell | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. I think what saturn is offering is great. But personally, I am tapped out and can’t afford to pay anyone to convert my car for me. I’d rather do it on my own with a guide and conversion kit in tow. ( of course)

    Comment by Build an Electric car | September 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment