Learn 2 Teach

Nintendo DS Homebrew

Homebrew ds game screenshot

Homebrew ds game screenshot

Tien found this video demo of a homebrew game made for the Nintendo DS. It looks like a lot of fun, lots of detail and intricate environments. The images are all hand drawn in 8 bit tiles. The audio changes based on the scenes. The world will look different depending on the day of the week and time of day.

Why do so many people play only corporate games?  Why don’t more people design their own games and share them with their friends?  Why can’t I buy a memory expansion port for my DS on Amazon, or many other places?  I don’t want to pirate games, I just want to play games made by real people in my community.

Tien’s entry on Bob’s game: Link

Video of the game play: Link

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | learners/teachers blogs | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Well, corporate games usually have better graphics, sound, gameplay, plot, and storyline, not to mention it takes a extreme amount of time to release a good game. lol

    I guess people don’t want to do the work?

    Comment by Susanna / Xue | August 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment